EU member states adopt the position on the Proposal for the Directive

On Friday, 8 February 2019, the member states of the EU have adopted their position on the Proposal for the Directive on copyright in the Digital Single Market.

Italy, Poland, Netherlands, Sweden, Finland, Luxembourg, Malta and Slovakia voted against the compromise solution of France and Germany that would introduce very strict conditions under which the platforms could be excluded from the scope of the Directive. Slovenia astained from the vote. The grant of the mandate will enable the Council to enter the final stage of the negotiations with the European Parliament before they both vote on the final proposal.